The 1719 Hildebrandt organ in Pasłęk is a statement of the change in post-communist Poland: a valuable monument treated with utmost respect, restored with precision to its historical origin thanks to extensive research and international collaboration, and maintained with a lot of care. “Antique Sound Palette” is a collection of carefully selected compositions showcasing the remarkable beauty and variety of sound combinations of this instrument.

Ilona Kubiaczyk-Adler collaborated with amazing artists and friends: Aleksandra Muza Korszuń created the design, Jakub Garbacz recorded and mastered the sound, Szymon Januszkiewicz tuned and maintained the organ, Dovile Savickaite was the awesome registrant, Piotr Gajzler, Piotr Pio Rogacki i Marcin Metalurg Staniszewski pumped the bellows, Jacob Adler edited the booklet and interviews, and composed one of the pieces. On the CD you can hear compositions (track list below) as well as collages of interviews with Kimberly Marshall, Guy Whatley, Jakub, Szymon, and Krzysztof Urbaniak, who was one of the main forces behind the restoration of the 1719 Hildebrandt organ.
“This CD is dedicated to the late Jacques van Oortmerssen, my dear organ professor from Conservatorium van Amsterdam, who influenced my musicianship tremendously. His sudden death left us grieving, but his life’s work carries on in his recordings and in the art of countless musicians he taught and worked with.” IKA

Track list:

1. Jan Podbielski (ca 1650) – Praeludium &
Johann Jakob Froberger (1616-1667) – Capriccio FbWV503 from Libro di capricci e ricercate (ca 1658) 6:39
2. technical prowess 1:20
3. Georg Böhm (1661-1733) – Chorale Partita “Wer nur den lieben Gott lässt walten” 8:46
4. kompromisy 3:34
5. Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) – Chorale “Kommst du nun, Jesu, vom Himmel herunter auf Erden” BWV 650 4:19
6. recording 1:22
7. Dieterich Buxtehude (1637-1707) – Toccata in d BuxWV 155 7:19
8. sen z powiek 1:18
9. Dieterich Buxtehude (1637-1707) – Ciacona in e minor BuxWV 160 5:56
10. hildebrandt 1:13
11. Johann Gottlieb Graun (1703-1771) – Animoso from Organ Concerto in g minor 4:25
12. artistic imprint 1:36
13. Jacob Adler (*1980) – “Dance of the kiciuś” 3:25
14. refinement 1:24
15-18. Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy (1809-1847) – Organ Sonata in Bb major op. 65 no 4 15:04
15. Allegro con brio 3:59
16. Andante religioso 2:19
17. Allegretto 3:45
18. Allegro maestoso e vivace 5:01

Total Time: 68:18

The recording session took place on August 3-5, 2015 at the St. Bartholomew Church in Pasłęk, Poland.
Interviews in order of appearance: Kimberly Marshall, Krzysztof Urbaniak, Guy Whatley, Jakub Garbacz, Szymon Januszkiewicz

© 2015 Ilona Kubiaczyk-Adler

Purchase “Antique Sound Palette” – digital or hard copy of the CD. Shipping included.

delivery types